Women's Cross Country NCAA Championship Round-Up

Women's Cross Country NCAA Championship Round-Up

TERRE HAUTE, IND. -- Johns Hopkins University won its first NCAA Division III Women's Cross Country National Championship in Saturday's national meet at the LaVern Gibson Course. 

All-Americans Hannah Oneda, Holly Clarke and Annie Monagle led the Bluejays balanced team effort with finishes of 10th place (21:27), 25th place (21:51) and 31st place (21:56), respectively.

Johns Hopkins won the meet by a convincing margin with 158 points.  Wartburg finished second with 221, followed by Claremont-Mudd-Scripps at 233.  Williams (266) and Wisconsin-Eau Claire (272) rounded out the top five.

"Much of our success involved setting the right mood and having our team enjoy the national championship atmosphere.  As far as team tactics, we had our four, five and six really pack up, and they did it perfectly.  They all tied and that pretty much sealed it for us," said Johns Hopkins coach Bobby Van Allen.

The top ten teams also included MIT, St. Lawrence, St. Olaf, Oberlin and Hope, 

"It hasn't really set in yet that we are national champions.  It feels unbeliveable for our department, our entire program, all of Johns Hopkins.  It's such a nice family to work with that this is for everybody, and of course the 45 girls that make up our team," added Van Allen. 

Individually, Christy Cazzola of UW-Oshkosh won the six-kilometer national championship with a time of 20:55.  Alison Steinrunner of Ohio Northern came home second in a time of 21:11, with Keri Lambert of Amherst placing third in 21:14.  Addie Tousley of Middlebury and Emma Lee from St. Olaf completed the top five. 

"It feels amazing and is the experience of a lifetime.  I think being a cross country national champ is different than being a track champion, so it's definitely a dream come true.  I'd like to thank my coach, my teammates, the athletic department and my family for being supporters," said Cazzola. 

Rounding out the top ten runners were Ashlyn Mauer of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Alana Enabnit of Wartburg, Taylor Berg of St. Thomas, Jorden Johnson of St. Olaf and Oneda. 

The event marks the first time Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology has hosted the NCAA Division III Cross Country National Championship and the 10th time that the LaVern Gibson Course has hosted a national event.  The Course has also served of the NCAA Division I championships from 2004-11.