CVC Announces All Division Teams

MILWAUKEE, WI– Gary Williams, Commissioner of the Continental Volleyball Conference announces the CVC East and West All Division Teams. A total of 16 student-athletes receive recognition for their outstanding play during the 2012 CVC season.


All West Division Team

Eight players were chosen to the Continental Volleyball Conference All West Division team as voted on by the head coaches of the division. UC Santa Cruz outside hitter Sal La Cavera, Banana Slugs libero Mauro Salinas and MSOE middle hitter Jack Geary are second year selections to the team. All four division teams had members selected with three from first place UC Santa Cruz, two from Carthage and MSOE, and one from Fontbonne.

CVC All West Division Team

Salvatore La Cavera, UC Santa Cruz, Senior Outside Hitter (Huntington Beach, CA / Mater Dei HS)

Connor Wexter, Carthage, Junior Setter (New Lenox, Ill. / Lincoln-Way Central HS)

Jack Geary, MSOE, Senior Middle Hitter (Milwaukee, Wis./Marquette HS)

Jon Storm, Carthage, Sophomore Outside Hitter (Naperville, ill./Nequa Valley HS)

Aaron Graue, Fontbonne, Sophomore Outside Hitter (St. Louis, Mo./ Oakville HS)

Brian Main, MSOE, Senior Opposite (Lamar, Kansas/ UMKC)

Jake Landel, UC Santa Cruz, Junior Outside Hitter (Long Beach, CA / St. John Bosco)

Mauro Salinas, UC Santa Cruz, Senior Libero (San Leandro, Calif./Moreau Catholic HS)


All East Division

Eight players were selected to the Continental Volleyball Conference All East Division team as voted on by the head coaches of the division. Juniata College led all teams with three student-athletes, with Stevenson and Cairn University receiving two nods, while  Thiel College received one. Juniata's Ross Madden and Joe Bortak were repeat All Division selections, along with Noah Prickett of Cairn and Dante McCoy of Thiel.

CVC All East Division Team

Austin Jacoby, Stevenson University, Junior Outside Hitter (Sellersville, Pa./Pennridge HS)

Noah Prickett, Cairn, Senior Outside Hitter (Yardley, Pa./Pennsbury HS)

Ross Madden, Juniata, Junior Outside Hitter (Richmond, Va./Deep Run HS)

Dante McCoy, Thiel, Senior Opposite (Reading, Pa./Holy Name)

Joe Bortak, Juniata, Junior Middle Blocker, (Jeanette, Pa./Penn Traford HS)

Paul Kuhn, Juniata, Sophomore Outside Hitter, (York, Pa./Central York HS)

Josiah Buss, Cairn, Sophomore Libero, (Rochester, NY/Hilton HS)

 Adam Thatcher, Stevenson, Junior Libero, (Bel Air, Md/C. Milton Wright HS)


At the CVC Championship Tournament, to be held April 12-13, 2013 in Greenville, PA., the tournament Most Valuable Player, and All Tournament team will be announced. The Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year and CVC Player of the Year will be announced on Monday.


The Continental Volleyball Conference is the first NCAA Divison III nation-wide men's volleyball conference with school's from California to Virginia. The ten members of the CVC are Carthage College (Kenosha, Wis.), Eastern Mennonite University (Harrisonburg, Va.), Fontbonne University (St. Louis, Mo.) Juniata College (Huntingdon, Pa.), Milwaukee School of Engineering (Milwaukee, Wis.), the College of Mount Saint Joseph (Cincinnati, Ohio), Cairn University (Langhorne, Pa.) Stevenson University (Stevenson, Md.), Thiel College (Greenville, Pa.) and the University of California, Santa Cruz (Santa Cruz, Ca.). In 2014, Dominican University (River Forest, Ill.), Lakeland College (Howards Grove, Wis.) and Marymount (Arlington, Va.) will join the conference.


-Brian Gibboney, Sports Information Director