PRs abound as ranked Cross country teams hit the trail in Sunnyvale

PRs abound as ranked Cross country teams hit the trail in Sunnyvale

SUNNYVALE (10-19) – UC Santa Cruz traveled to take part in the Bronco Invitational hosted by NCAA Division I member Santa Clara University. The Banana Slugs' won the men's Open 8K race and the women finished third in 6K. The competition included schools from all levels of intercollegiate competition.

For the men, Kellen O'Neill had the Slugs'  best finish of the day as he finished 14th with a PR of 24:53.22. Hayden Johnson ran the course in 24:54.13 and finished 15th. Paul Colosi was 17th in 24:55.44. Nick Kleiber ran a time of 25:39.2 and finished 39th. Walter Teitelbaum finished 40th in 25:39.8. Pablo Cortes had a time of 25:45.9 which placed him in 44th. Perry Winsor finished 53rd in 25:56.6. Robert Udell had a time of 26:01.8 which placed him in 58th. Kyle Henricson finished in 75th place with a time of 26:25.2. Sean Riedel ran a 26:50.4 which placed him 96th. Ethan West finished 107th with a time of 27:04.3. Adam Elaidy had a time of 27:23.2 which placed him 118th. Harmen Kang finished 125th with a time of 27:35.8. Mateo Ramirez ran a time of 27:44.2 for a 130th place finish. Sagan Svoboda finished 132nd with a time of 27:47.4. Emerson Hemley rounded out the Slugs contingent with a 156th place finish with a 28:38.4 time.

In the women's Open race, Elana Muzzy had the Slugs' best finish as she finished 17th with a time of 22:26.7. Ashley Baudin ran in a PR of 22:36.0 which placed her 21st. Riley Martel-Phillips finished 25th with a time of 22:40.6. Natalie Marquardt finished with a 22:43.2 time which placed her in 29th place. Ella Ruff finished 45th with a time of 23:06.0. Hana Vrablik ran a 23:06.8 which placed her in 47th. Sage Simms finished 91st with a time of 24:00.1. Sanjana Raman ran a time of 24:06.4 which placed her in 95th. Abby Klein finished 106th with a time of 24:20.5. Carrie Bradley ran a time of 24:21.4 which placed her 107th. Monica Fonseca finished 124th with a time of 24:40.4. Erin Carvalho ran a time of 24:48.1 and had a 129th place finish. Abby Twoy rounded out the Banana Slugs with a time of 25:13 which placed her in 138th.

In the men's team competition, UC Santa Cruz won the race by thirty points over Division I Loyola Marymount University. UC Santa Barbara won the women's team competition.

The Banana Slugs race next Saturday as they will take part in the American Collegiate Athletic Association Men's and Women's Cross Country Championship hosted by Mills College in Oakland.