McClish and Colosi lead sweep of AD3I annual awards.

McClish and Colosi lead sweep of AD3I annual awards.

OVERLAND PARK, KAN - Paul Colosi repeated as Male Runner of the Year and Shannon McClish won her second Female Runner of the Year honor in three years from the Association of Division Three Independents.

It was Colosi's third consecutive Runner of the Year honor, coinciding with his three consecutive trips to the NCAA Championship Meet. McClish set the school record for 6K this year while racing mostly against Division I runners.

"This team has been incredible this season and I'm so proud of them to get the recognition they deserve," said coach David Klech, who garnered both Men's and Women's Coach of the Year for the second-straight year. "Paul and Shannon were sensational all season."

Will Daschbach was named male Freshman of the Year, while Anya Cooper-Hynell was UCSC's fourth consecutive female Runner of the year.

Cooper-Hynell placed 46th at the NCAA West Regional, and joins Carrie Bradley (2017), Sydney Gutierrez (2016) and McClish (2015) as UCSC's previous top rookie runners. Gutierrez, Cooper-Hynell and McClish all were named to the AD3I first team, along with freshman Elana Muzzy. Bradley was named to the Second Team with fellow Banana Slugs Natalie Marquardt, Amelia Huster and Raissa Boysen.

"Anya was a big contributor from Day 1," Klech said. "Will was patient after a challenging start to be impressive at the end of the season!"

On the men's side, Colosi was joined by Nick Kleiber, freshman Perry Winsor, seniors Draven Hawk and Dante Capone as UCSC took five of the seven spots on the first team.

Tyler Rule, Kellen O'Neill and Daschbach were named to the Second Team,