Banana Slugs Men Finish 4th, Women 6th at Tour De Cuesta

Banana Slugs Men Finish 4th, Women 6th at Tour De Cuesta

SAN LUIS OBISPO (8-31) – UC Santa Cruz traveled to San Luis Obispo for their first race of the 2018 season. The competition for the Banana Slugs competition featured junior college from all around the state of California.

In the men's race, Ethan West finished 15th with a 23:17 time. Mateo Ramirez finished in eighteenth place with a time of 23:20. Leo Merle ran the course in a time of 23:43 and finished twenty first. Vincent Chevreuil finished twenty fourth with a time of 24:01. Harmen Kang rounded out the Banana Slugs' contingent with a 24:37 time and a thirty fourth place finish.

In the women's race, Amelia Huster had the best finish for the Banana Slugs as she finished twelfth with a time of 21:24. Nadia Perez had a time of 22:16 and a twenty first place finish. Abby Twoy finished twenty second with a time of 22:21. Sanjana Raman had a time of 22:54 and placed twenty fifth. Sasaiya Robles finished twenty eighth with a time of 23:24.

In the men's team competition, Hartnell College won the race while the Banana Slugs finished sixth. Moises Marquez of Long Beach City College won the individual competition. Moorpark College won the women's team competition while the Banana Slugs finished fourth. Sammy Barajas of Moorpark won the individual competition.

The Banana Slugs' next race will be tomorrow as they will travel to Belmont to participate in the Argo Invitational hosted by NCAA Division II member Notre Dame De Namur University.