Slugs Honored at GSAC Championship Awards Banquet

Slugs Honored at GSAC Championship Awards Banquet

MACON, Georgia – The Great South Athletic Conference (GSAC) announced the postseason award winners in the sport of women's tennis on Friday night at a banquet in Macon, Ga. Amy Leslie led the Slugs as she was selected as the GSAC Freshman of the Year. Playing mostly DII competition throughout the year, Leslie finished the year 3-1 against DIII opponents.  

Leslie also earned first-team All-GSAC for her singles play.  She was joined by her teammates Sylvia Brummitt, Islay Fossett, and Zoe Brook as first-team All-GSAC recipients.

The GSAC also recognized Slugs' Melanie Waechtler to the All-Sportsmanship Team for her for her outstanding display of sportsmanship throughout the season.  

Three Slugs were selected to the GSAC All-Academic Team.  In order to be selected, athletes must be at least a sophomore and recieved over a 3.25 in the previous term. Brook, Fossett, and Eva Buciek each earned the honor.

Other notable GSAC award recipients included Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott who captured Player of the Year while the Scotties' head coach, T.J. Greggs, was named Coach of the Year by his peers for the second straight season.

2016 GSAC Tennis Awards
Player of the Year: Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott
Freshman of the Year: Amy Leslie of UCSC
Coach of the Year: T.J. Greggs of Agnes Scott

Tennis All-Conference Team
No. 1: Maddie Hoffman of Agnes Scott
No. 1: Andrea Akers of Salem
No. 1: Sylvia Brummitt of UCSC
No. 2: Taylor Lee of Agnes Scott
No. 2: Deanna Wilkins of Salem
No. 2: Islay Fossett of UCSC
No. 3: Anastasia Bennett of Agnes Scott
No. 3: Zoe Brook of UCSC
No. 4: Nikki Langford of Agnes Scott
No. 5: Amy Leslie of UCSC
No. 6: Samaria Spencer-Hall of Wesleyan 

Doubles Combinations
No. 1: Maddie Hoffman and Taylor Lee (7-10 overall, 4-0 in GSAC)
No. 2: Nikki Langford and Camille Wilson (5-7 overall, 2-0 in GSAC; 1-3 at No. 3, 1-0 GSAC at No. 3)
No. 3: Magdalena Wimmler and Jumana Master (2-1 overall, 1-0 in GSAC  

Tennis All-Freshman Team
Anling Kaplan of Agnes Scott
Mariah Lopez of Agnes Scott
Pricilla Solis of Salem
Amy Leslie of UCSC 

Tennis All-Academic Team

Agnes Scott
Kai Beard
Anastasia Bennett
Katrina Cavens
Jumana Master
Lena Wimmler
Isabel Zhao

Andrea Akers
Ashley Koehler
Allie Watkins

Zoe Brook
Islay Fossett
Eva Buciek

Keondria Epps
Mingying Cheng
Jing Lan

All-Sportsmanship Team
Agnes Scott: Mariah Lopez
Mills: Jade Escalante
Salem: Allie Watkins
UCSC: Melanie Waechtler
Wesleyan: Samaria Spence-Hall