Pioneers Defeat Banana Slugs

Pioneers Defeat Banana Slugs

HAYWARD (9-30) – The Banana Slugs continued their three match trip away from home as they took on NCAA Division II member CSU East Bay in Hayward. The Pioneers used two second half goals as the Pioneers defeated the Banana Slugs 2-0.

In their last match, the Banana Slugs tied Austin College 2-2 in Austin on September 20th while the Pioneers defeated Humboldt State University 2-1 in Hayward.

In the first half, it was the Pioneers who controlled the match in their offensive zone. The Pioneers held a 10-2 advantage in the shot category. However, every shot for either squad that was on frame was saved. The last chance the Banana Slugs had at scoring came with 9:35 left on a Julio Demara shot that went just high. The Banana Slugs and the Pioneers went into the halftime break tied at 0-0.

In the second half, the Pioneers would continue the offensive control of the ball. The Pioneers would draw first blood. With 21:13 left in the match, the Pioneers would get on the scoreboard. Jared Johnson would score Davis Okonkwo and hit the back of the net with the shot as the Pioneers took a 1-0 lead. About six minutes later, the Pioneers would strike again. Juan Alfaro would take a free kick after a Banana Slugs' foul and would hit the back of the net to give the Pioneers a 2-0 lead with 15:12 left. The final chance the Banana Slugs would get would be a shot by Hector Mestre but his shot went just high. The Pioneers won the match 2-0 and extended the Banana Slugs' winless streak to three.

Three players (Demara, Rodrigo Diaz-Valdes and Mestre) had one shot apiece to lead the Banana Slugs while for CSU East Bay, Victor Calderon had a match high five shots. Carlos Moreno got the win for the Pioneers while Andrew Pimentel got the loss for the Banana Slugs. The Pioneers outshot the Banana Slugs 17-3 and the Pioneers had one more corner kick (5-4) than did the Banana Slugs.

The Banana Slugs will have their next match on Sunday as they will travel to Turlock to take on NCAA Division II member CSU Stanislaus. Kickoff is set for 2 pm.